Diabetes Prevention Program

Diabetes Prevention Program

As of 3/16/2020: Given the situation with COVID-19, all DPP classes are occurring remotely over Zoom for the time being.

Did you know 88 million American adults - more than 1 out of 3 - have prediabetes?

UCSF is offering the Diabetes Prevention Program free of charge for faculty and staff who have prediabetes or are at risk of developing type 2 diabetes. The Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP) is a year-long program that provides education, encouragement, and the tools necessary to help individuals reach their health goals.

Recruitment Is Open - Join Today!

We are currently recruiting for a cohort starting September 15, 2020. Classes will be held on Tuesdays from 12:00pm-1:00pm via Zoom. If you are interested in joining this cohort or a future cohort, please fill out the DPP Interested Participant Survey below.

DPP Interested Participant Survey


About the Program
Participants attend 22 sessions over the course of 1 year. Participants meet in person for 1 hour once a week for the first four months, biweekly (every other week) for the next three months, and once a month for the last six months. The DPP Program uses the Prevent T2 curriculum developed by the Center of Disease Control (CDC) which includes information on nutrition, ways to increase physical activity, stress management techniques, and ideas to stay motivated. Each cohort will have a DPP Health Coach facilitating their program.


“The level of support is enormous and I feel very encouraged by my co-participants” - DPP Participant

Eligibility

AND

One of the following requirements:

  • Past diagnosis of gestational diabetes
  • Blood test with prediabetes diagnosis
  • A prediabetes assessment score ≥ 5 according to the Risk Test

Questions? You can reach us via e-mail at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


“Initially I was reluctant to participate, yet during this time of SIP [Shelter in Place], this group has been a vital resource” - DPP Participant

Cohort 1

Classes are held at the Parnassus Library, CL-215/16 from 5:30-6:30pm, unless otherwise noted.

Participant Files

Tuesday, January 29
Tuesday, February 5
Tuesday, February 12
Tuesday, February 19
Tuesday, February 26
Tuesday, March 5
Tuesday, March 12
Tuesday, March 19
Tuesday, March 26
Tuesday, April 2
Tuesday, April 9 (location: S-170, Medical Sciences Building)
Tuesday, April 16
Tuesday, April 30
Tuesday, May 14
Tuesday, May 28
Tuesday, June 11
Tuesday, July 9
Tuesday, August 6
Tuesday, September 3
Tuesday, October 8 (location: Parnassus, TBD)
Tuesday, November 5 (location: Parnassus, TBD)
Tuesday, December 10 (location: Parnassus, TBD)

Cohort 2

Location: Mission Bay
Room: Mission Hall 2109 - Classes are held at this location unless otherwise noted
Time: Thursdays 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Thursday 10/10/19
Thursday 10/17/19
Thursday 10/24/19
Thursday 10/31/19
Thursday 11/7/19
Thursday 11/14/19
Thursday 11/21/19
Thursday 11/28/19
Thursday 12/5/19
Thursday 12/12/19
Thursday 12/19/19
Thursday 12/26/19
Thursday 1/2/20
Thursday 1/9/20
Thursday 1/16/20
Thursday 1/23/20
Thursday 2/6/20
Thursday 2/20/20
Thursday 3/5/20
Thursday 3/19/20
Thursday 4/16/20
Thursday 5/14/20
Thursday 6/11/20
Thursday 7/9/20
Thursday 8/6/20
Thursday 9/3/20

 

Cohort 3

Location: Mission Center Building
Time: Tuesdays 12:00PM – 1:00PM

Tuesday January 21 (Orientation)
Tuesday January 28
Tuesday February 4
Tuesday February 11
Tuesday February 18
Tuesday February 25
Tuesday March 3
Tuesday March 10
Tuesday March 17
Tuesday March 24
Tuesday March 31
Tuesday April 7
Tuesday April 14
Tuesday April 28
Tuesday May 12
Tuesday May 26
Tuesday June 9
Tuesday July 7
Tuesday August 4
Tuesday September 1
Tuesday October 6
Tuesday November 3
Tuesday December 1

Cohort 4

Location: Parnassus Library
Time: Wednesdays 5:30PM – 6:30PM

Wednesday January 22 (Orientation)
Wednesday January 29
Wednesday February 5
Wednesday February 12
Wednesday February 19
Wednesday February 26
Wednesday March 4
Wednesday March 11
Wednesday March 18
Wednesday March 25
Wednesday April 1
Wednesday April 8
Wednesday April 15
Wednesday April 29
Wednesday May 13
Wednesday May 27
Wednesday June 10
Wednesday July 1
Wednesday August 5
Wednesday September 2
Wednesday October 7
Wednesday November 4
Wednesday December 2

Cohort 5

Location: Zoom
Time: Wednesdays 12:00PM – 1:00PM

Wednesday July 22 (Orientation)
Wednesday August 19
Wednesday August 26
Wednesday September 2
Wednesday September 9
Wednesday September 16
Wednesday September 23
Wednesday September 30
Wednesday October 7
Wednesday October 14
Wednesday October 21
Wednesday October 28
Wednesday November 4
Wednesday November 18
Wednesday December 2
Wednesday December 16
Wednesday January 6
Wednesday February 3
Wednesday March 3
Wednesday April 7
Wednesday May 5
Wednesday June 2
Wednesday July 7

Cohort 6

Location: Zoom
Time: Tuesdays 12:00PM – 1:00PM

Tuesday September 8 (Orientation)
Tuesday September 15
Tuesday September 22
Tuesday September 29
Tuesday October 6
Tuesday October 13
Tuesday October 20
Tuesday October 27
Tuesday November 3
Tuesday November 10
Tuesday November 17
Tuesday November 24
Tuesday December 1
Tuesday December 15
Tuesday December 29
Tuesday January 12
Tuesday January 26
Tuesday February 23
Tuesday March 23
Tuesday April 20
Tuesday May 18
Tuesday June 15
Tuesday July 13